A Better Way to Create PayPal Galleries with Lightroom

Over the past few years I’ve posted photo galleries to my website from Lightroom that allows viewers to purchase photographs from me directly. The order is placed online using PayPal from a photo gallery on my website. Once I receive the order, I submit the order to my printer and complete the order. I posted a blog entry on this procedure back in August of 2010. This worked well for me and actually helped increase my print sales. The process was pretty easy once the code was inserted.

However, one problem was that the location of my copyright watermark was locked into the very lower-left portion of the print. I felt that some people were simply saving my images to their computer and easily editing or cropping out my watermark. Ideally, I wanted my watermark to be in the middle of the print at about 50% opacity. I am not a code expert, so this was not easy for me to figure out. So I kept using what worked even with the limitations. You can view one of these old galleries here.

Fortunately, I was doing a search on the internet one day and discovered a new and better way to post a Lightroom Gallery to my website compete with PayPal options. The bonus was that it allowed me to put my watermark exactly where I desired, all within the Lightroom output settings! It was an excellent option, so I read and re-read the article and decided to give it a try. I am extremely satisfied with the results and I use this feature for all the photo galleries I post now. It’s sweet!

The web link I found in my search is: http://www.imat.co.uk/ligtroom_paypal.html and includes the code required to make this process work. Thanks John Burton for sharing this productive and efficient way to utilize PayPal with Lightroom Galleries!

This process does involve one additional step but it’s a free signup! It involves using Mal’s ecommerce, which creates the cart when a visitor to your gallery wants to purchase a photo. When you go to this website you have to join by creating a new account. Then you need to set up your cart. But all this is a one-time process. After you do it once, it’s done. And it works beautifully!

In Lightroom you need to add some instructional code in the Web Module in the Caption box. It is only entered here instead of in each photograph’s meta data, so it is much more efficient than my older method. This code is found at the bottom of the link I mentioned above from John Burton’s website. This is where you include your products for sale and their prices. You can see one of my newer galleries utilizing this feature here.

I really like the look of this option for posting photo galleries to the web. And it makes it easy for visitors to order products from my website directly. The great thing is this web gallery is easily repeatable for any new photo gallery I want to post to my website. It is really effortless once it was all set up. The setup process didn’t take very long either. Give this method a try. You will like the way it looks and you will be easily able to sell more of your photo products!

Leave a Reply

